Catapulted Crowned Sa Horse Of The Year

Outstanding sprinter Catapulted was last night crowned the Goldners Horse Transport South Australian Horse of the Year at a glittering awards night in Adelaide.

Connections of Catapulted

A recent winner of the Rubiton Stakes at his first run from a spell, Catapulted was selected by the judging panel as the best South Australian bred performer during 2010.

He was the big winner at the annual South Australian Thoroughbred Breeders function celebrating the state’s equine excelllence at Morphettville.

Catapulted ran a string of first class races during 2010 and was one of the rare horses in the country to win stakes races in three states.

A $90,000 purchase by trainer Mark Kavanagh from the draft of Mill Park at the 2007 Magic Millions Adelaide Yearling Sale, Catapulted has earned his connections over $600,000 with 10 wins from just 19 starts.

Catapulted, a son of Catbird, was bred by Mill Park in association with Bob and Helen Dinham, and is from Siren Miss – who was last night crowned the Claud Haigh Memorial Broodmare of the Year.

Past winners of the SA Horse of the Year award include Makybe Diva, Mummify, Divine Madonna, Gold Guru, Episode, Durbridge, Special and Manikato.

The co-breeders of Catapulted, Mill Park were honoured for their outstanding contributions to the SA Thoroughbred Industry by being presented with the prestigious Matrice Award.

The Meningie based thoroughbred nursery is owned and managed by the Watson family and they have played a part in the careers of stars including Divine Madonna, Maldivian, Gold Guru, Undoubtedly, Mummify, Devil Moon, Princess Coup and Catapulted.

Recently retired Bellotto was awarded the Magic Millions Stallion of the Year – finishing the 2009/10 racing season with the highest earnings through his progeny including Littorio.

Pellizotti, bred by Kambula Stud and Majestic Music, bred by Toorak Park, were announced as the SA Bred leading two-year-old and three-year-old for the 09/10 season.

A full list of award winners follows:

Goldners Horse Transport Horse of the Year – Catapulted
Morphettville Equine Clinic Matrice Award – Mill Park
Magic Millions Leading Stallion – Bellotto (Rivers End Stud)
SA Jockey Club Leading 2YO Sire – Barely a Moment (Lindsay Park Stud)
Claude Haigh Memorial Leading Broodmare – Siren Miss (Mill Park & R & H Dinham)
Newmarket Insurance Leading Breeder
By Stakes Wins – Toorak Park Stud
By SA Bred Winners – Ralph Satchell (Willow Grove Stud)
Finniss Lodge Leading 2YO – Pellizotti (Kambula Stud)
Kentucky Equine Research Leading 3YO – Majestic Music (Toorak Park Stud)
Yalumba Award for Breeders of G1 winners –
Littorio (Mrs V Klaric) and Nicconi (Lindsay Park Stud, P Devitt & L Gordon) 

Photo courtesy of Atkins Photography.