Ryan Leads Hotly Contested Mm Premiership


The race to be crowned the inaugural winner of the Magic Millions Leading Trainer Premiership has hotted up with four trainers within five wins as the season heads towards a thrilling conclusion.

Gerald Ryan, who will be hoping his Gold Coast graduate Melito wins Saturday’s Group One Winter Stakes, retains his place at the top of the table – one win ahead of Lindsay Park horseman David Hayes.

Just two wins behind Hayes is Melbourne Cup winner Mark Kavanagh, while the country’s most famous horsewoman Gai Waterhouse is another two wins back.

Gold Coast trainer Bryan Guy is fifth on the table with 39 wins – rounding out the top ten are Dale Sutton, Adam Durrant, David Harrison, Kelly Schweida and John Thompson.

Dale SuttonIn the race for the Leading Trainer by non-metro wins it is Wadham Park’s Dale Sutton with 34 success that is heading the list.

Sutton is six wins clear of his nearest rival, Toowoomba’s leading trainer Mark Webb (28).

The Tasmanian training partnership of David and Scott Brunton (26) is next – just ahead of Patinack Farm trainer John Thompson (23).

The inaugural Magic Millions Trainer Premierships were announced to recognise the achievement of trainers who succeed with graduates of Australia’s most winning thoroughbred auctioneers, Magic Millions.

The premierships run for the racing season and will be concluded at the end of July.

(all wins Australia wide)

48 Gerald Ryan
47 David Hayes
45 Mark Kavanagh
43 Gai Waterhouse
39 Bryan Guy
37 Dale Sutton
33 Adam Durrant
33 David Harrison
32 Kelly Schweida
32 John Thompson

(non metro wins – Australia wide)

34 Dale Sutton
28 Mark Webb
26 David & Scott Brunton
23 John Thompson
22 Trevor Bailey
22 Bryan Guy
21 Jason McLachlan
20 Roy Chillemi
20 Michael Nolan
20 Gai Waterhouse