Hayes And Sutton Lead Magic Premierships

Victorian based horsemen David Hayes and Dale Sutton have swept to the front in the two trainer divisions of the Magic Millions Premierships for the 2009/10 season.

Hayes leads the table for the most wins this season with Magic Millions sale graduates, while Sutton has saddled up the most winners outside of the metropolitan area.

With 42 overall wins Hayes is three clear of both Mark Kavanagh and Gerald Ryan (both 39) and Gai Waterhouse (37) in the race to be the inaugural winner of the award.

Sutton, enjoying his best ever season as a trainer, leads the non-city win table with 31 – 11 clear of his nearest rivals, leading Gold Coast horseman Trevor Bailey, Tassie father-son team David and Scott Brunton and Toowoomba’s Mark Webb (all 20).

The premierships will continue through the remainder of the racing season which concludes at the end of July.

The winners of both divisions will win a $2,000 Magic Millions Yearling Sale voucher and an exclusive prize and accommodation package.

David HayesMagic Millions Leading Trainer
Ranked by all wins in Australia with MM graduates

42 – David Hayes
39 – Mark Kavanagh
39 – Gerald Ryan
37 – Gai Waterhouse
34 – Bryan Guy
34 – Dale Sutton
31 – David Harrison
29 – Adam Durrant
26 – Robert Heathcote
26 – Neville Parnham
26 – Kelly Schweida

Magic Millions Leading Trainer
Ranked by non-metro wins in Australia with MM graduates

31 – Dale Sutton
20 – Trevor Bailey
20 – David & Scott Brunton
20 – Mark F Webb
19 – Roy Chillemi
19 – David Hayes
18 – Jason McLachlan
18 – Gai Waterhouse
17 – Graeme Hammarquist
17 – Gerald Ryan
17 – John Thompson

* premierships as at 9am Friday